Metro Prague

Posted by

In Prague, the subway is called the Metro. It consists of 3 lines. There are 58 stations, in total the underground network of Prague is 65 kilometers long.

Trains run from 5 a.m. until midnight, during the night only 9 night trams run in Prague.

There are 3 lines: Line A (green), line B (yellow) and line C (red). A fourth line is in the beginning of the construction phase (as of the beginning of 2019).

The sign of the metro is shown in the following picture. The color changes depending on the line.

Important stops Metro Prague

All 3 lines stop at Wenceslas Square, but at different stations. The best way to get to the Old Town is by Metro A (green line), stop Staroměstská (German: Altstadt).

All 3 lines of the Metro Prague meet at one station:

LInie A and line B: station Mustek (Wenceslas Square)

Line A and line C: Station Museum (Wenzelsplatz)

Line B and line C: Station Florenc

The first line of the Prague Metro was opened in 1974. The Prague metro currently carries almost 600 million passengers a yea

Important notice: With the great tourist card Prague Card you can almost visit all important sights of Prague without paying entrance fee: More info here

Video Tickets Buy and cancel Metro Prague

Link: Information on tickets for local public transport in Prague

Link: All about tram Prague

Florence Cathedral

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *